June 9, 1989 to: LOOK laronel rom ommittee suggestions



Jack D. Maroney, Austin President-Elect Howard Waldrop, Texarkana

Executive Vice-President John H. Marks, Jr., Dallas

Treasurer Wayne H. Prescott, Austin

President

TEXAS ASSOCIATION OF DEFENSE COUNSEL

400 West 15th Street, Suite 315, Austin, Texas 78701 512/476-5225

June 9, 1989

Office of the President Jack D. Maroney Brown, Maroney, Rose, Barber & Dye 1400 One Congress Plaza 111 Congress Avenue Austin, Texas 78701 512/472-5456

Honorable Eugene A. Cook Justice, Supreme Court of Texas P.O. Box 12248, Capitol Station Austin, Texas 78711

Dear Judge Cook:

This will acknowledge and thank you for your May 31 letter advising of the Supreme Court's establishment of an Advisory Committee on Professionalism and a request by the Court to designate two members of the Texas Association of Defense Counsel as representatives to the Committee from am our organization. I delighted to appoint Mr. Carlisle DeHay of Dallas and Mr. Robert Sheehy Moreover, I am pleased to advise that of Waco. the Texas Trial Lawyers Association and the Texas Association of Defense Counsel have been engaged in a dialogue as to the possibility of agreeing upon a suitable professional credo to be jointly adopted by our respective organizations. Please understand this has not yet been accomplished but T am taking the liberty of forwarding a copy of the most recent draft which has been purloined in part extensive efforts great from the of the Travis County Bar Association. Hopefully, a final draft will be submitted to the leadership of the TADC and TTLA later this month.

I can assure that that we are all delighted with the bench and bar's direction and sense of leadership for this much-needed project which hopefully will reap considerable benefit to our profession.

Verx truly yours, aro D. Maroney Jack

JDM:ep1957M

cc: Carlisle DeHay Bob Sheehy

Assistant Treasurer Karen Parker, Austin Administrative Vice-Presidents Programs Joseph V. Crawford, Austin Legislation Lewin Plunkett, San Antonio Publications James O'Leary, Odessa Membership Richard L. Griffith Vice-Presidents Vice-Presidents Roy Lee Barrett, Waco James D. Guess, San Antonio Gary Gurwitz, McAllen Roland Johnson, Fort Worth Patricia J. Kerrigan, Houston John H. Martin, Dallas Thomas C. Riney, Amarillo Louis M. Scofield, Jr., Beaumont **District Directors** District 1 Don W. Kent, Tyler District 2 Larry Germer, Beaumont District 3 Philip W. Johnson, Lubbock District David R. Cobb, Abilene District 5 Mike M. Tabor, Dallas District 6 James H. Holmes, Dallas District 7 Jim C. Curtis, El Paso District 8 James A. Besselman, Amarillo District 9 John Eckel, Galveston District 10 Mark T. Beaman, Austin Christopher J. Kling, Bryan District 12 C. Vic Anderson, Jr., Fort Worth District 13 District 11 Franklin Moore, Fort Worth District 14 James W. Wray, Jr., Corpus Christi District 15 Eduardo Roberto Rodriguez, Brownsville District 16 Michael B. McKinney, Midland District 17 Mark J. Cannan, San Antonio District 18 Tom M. Davis, Jr., Houston District 19 Michael S. Hays, Houston District 20 Brock C. Akers, Houston Directors at Large Larry B. Funderburk, Houston Anne L. Gardner, Fort Worth Hubert Oxford III, Beaumont Steven D. Browne, San Antonio

Immediate Past President J. Carlisle DeHay, Jr., Houston